Home The Letters of Absolon

The letters of absolon


More information

Three stories, two sides, one country. Southerner Absolon Wilkes wants only to marry and live a peaceful life in North Carolina but the Civil War denies him both. When he voices his objection to the cause of the Confederacy, he is labeled a traitor and a coward. As the accusations against him grow, the safety of his fiancee, Anne, is threatened and Absolon is forced to leave his home, vowing to come back to her after the war. He solicits a promise from his closest friend, Royal Pollard to protect her until his return. Burdened with duty, Royal valiantly stands between Anne and harm despite being branded a Union sympathizer and a coward for declining his commission. His pain runs still deeper as he struggles to suppress his love for Anne. With her husband called away to fight, the loss of their infant son is too great a burden for Victoria Corbel to endure alone. Disguising herself as a man, she enlists in the Confederate Army, taking a dangerous assignment as a courier. Alone in enemy territory, she rides from camp to camp following the battles, determined to find her husband and fight or die at his side. When the Corbel Plantation is left in the hands of a cruel overseer, one slave, Window Graham, escapes to join the Union forces and fight for his freedom. Befriended by Absolon Wilkes he learns the true meaning of war and of friendship. But, Window's heart is tested when he confronts his mortally wounded former owner at the bloody battle at Ringold Gap. Inspired by the letters of a Civil War foot soldier, these true stories are skillfully woven together in a thrilling, inspirational and heart-breaking tale of courage and sacrifice.show more

Shipping & Returns

Seller information

Browsing history

You may also like

Best sellers